Congratulations, Charlene and Desi!

SERC extends our congratulations to our new Deputy Commissioners of Education, Charlene Russell-Tucker and Desi Nesmith. Charlene, who most recently served as CSDE’s Chief Operating Officer, is a longtime friend and advocate for SERC who has sat on the SERC Board of Directors since the Board was established in 2014. Charlene will serve as Deputy Commissioner of Education for Educational Supports and Wellness.

Desi Nesmith most recently served as CSDE’s chief turnaround officer and interim education commissioner before the confirmation of Dr. Miguel Cardona earlier this year. In 2014, he was the recipient of the Milken Educator Award. Desi is also a longtime SERC friend and has worked closely with our agency to promote access and opportunity for all of our students. Desi will serve as Deputy Commissioner of Education for Academics and Innovation.

Congratulations to two well-deserving educational leaders on behalf of our students in Connecticut!

new Deputy Commissioners of Education
Charlene Russel-Tucker
Desi Nesmith