The Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) and the School Paraprofessional Advisory Council has established the Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year Program to recognize the important role of the paraeducator in supporting student achievement.

The award is named in honor of Anne Marie Murphy, a paraeducator who was killed in the Sandy hook shooting. The program honors one paraeducator who has demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication in the performance of his/her job, thereby earning that person the respect and admiration of other paraeducators, students, teachers, administrators, co-workers and parents.

Denise R. Seel, a Lisbon resident, was named the 2016 Paraeducator of the Year by Education Commissioner Dianna R. Wentzell. Wentzell was joined by Lt. Gov. Nancy Wyman and Hartford Public School officials on Monday to announce the news. Read more about this exciting news below:

A press conference was also held at Batchelder Elementary School in honor of Denise, click here to watch the video on