The Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) and the School Paraprofessional Advisory Council has established the Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year Program to recognize the important role of the paraeducator in supporting student achievement. The award is named in honor of Anne Marie Murphy, a paraeducator who was killed in the Sandy hook shooting. The program honors one paraeducator who has demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication in the performance of his/her job, thereby earning that person the respect and admiration of other paraeducators, students, teachers, administrators, co-workers and parents. Superintendents and school directors are invited to nominate one paraeducator for this award.

Each district paraeducator of the year is individually recognized and receives a certificate at the recognition ceremony. This year's ceremony will take place on Thursday, October 1, 2015.

For questions, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. at (860) 713-6794

Download Application Form